‘The Inside Songs of Curtis Mayfield’

In conjunction with a new Aum Fidelity release, bassist William Parker assembles a first-rate band of relative outsiders–including Sabir Mateen (saxophone), Hamid Drake (drums), and Dick Griffin (trombone)–to reignite the incendiary melodic momentum of America’s most politically inclined soul star. Singer Leena Conquest adds vocals and occasional dramatizations, while poet Amiri Baraka supplies occasional color-coded interjections such as “353 shades of darkness” and “250 flavors of invisible.”

Fri., Jan. 21, 7 p.m., 2011

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.